## 2008 NOVA AWARDS: BALLOT FORM

Please list below the three UK / Irish fanzines you've most enjoyed this year, and the three UK / Irish fan writers and fan artists whose work you've most enjoyed, in order of preference. For a fanzine to qualify, one or more issues must have been published between 1 October 2007 and 30 September 2008; for writers and artists to qualify, a piece of writing or artwork of theirs must have been published in an eligible fanzine for the first time during the same period. Votes either for yourself or a fanzine edited by yourself will be ignored. For the purposes of this ballot, a fanzine is defined as "an amateur publication which is concerned with science fiction, fantasy, science fiction and fantasy fans and / or related subjects, copies of which may be obtained in exchange for amateur sf publications or in response to letters of comment".

Best Fanzine (in descending order):

1)	Edited by:
2)	Edited by:
3)	Edited by:
Best Fanwriter (in descending order):	
1)	2)
	3)
Best Fanartist (in descending order):	
1)	2)
	3)

To vote, you must be a member of Novacon 38 and have received six or more different UK or Irish fanzines published between 1 October 2007 and 30 September 2008. Please list below, in BLOCK CAPITALS, at least *six* UK or Irish fanzines you have received during this period (different publications, not different issues of the same publication; the various official organs of a group, society or convention do not count as different fanzines). The list overleaf may help.

	Membership Number:
Signature	:
-	

The official ballot box will be stationed in the vicinity of the Novacon 38 registrations desk until midnight on Saturday; alternatively, you can hand your vote in person to the administrator, Steve Green (the same deadline applies). The winners will be announced during the awards ceremony on Sunday evening.

The full results will appear in Novacon 39's first progress report and on its official website, <www.novacon39.org.uk>.

## Don't forget to vote before midnight on Saturday!

## 2008 Nova Awards: the long(ish) list

The following fanzines were received by the Nova Awards administrator since 1 October 2007 and are eligible for the 2008 awards, which will be presented on Sunday at Novacon 38:

Ansible #243-254, Dave Langford Banana Wings #32-35, Claire Brialey & Mark Plummer Brum Group News #433-#436, William McCabe for the Birmingham SF Group Brum Group News #444, Rog Peyton for the Birmingham SF Group Journey Planet #2, James Bacon & Chris Garcia (with Claire Brialey) Motorway Dreamer #5, John Nielsen Hall No Sin But Ignorance #47-48, Claire Brialey Outlaw Mutation Boogie #65, Mark Plummer Plokta #38-39, Steve Davies, Alison Scott & Mike Scott Prolapse #9-12, Peter Weston Procrastinations #5-6, John Coxon Quasiquote #6, Sandra Bond Quantum Bullocks #0, Jinnie Cracknell Virtual Tucker Hotel #1-18, Peter Sullivan

The following fanzines were not received by the Nova Awards administrator, but also appear to meet the eligibility criteria for the 2008 awards (thanks to Mark Plummer and Claire Brialey for their assistance):

Bye Bye Johnny #2, Graham Charnock Inca #3, Rob Jackson iShoes #2, Yvonne Rowse More Balls #4, Ang Rosin

We do not claim this list as complete, and welcome additional entries (if nothing else, the Novacon programme books remain documents of record); it is offered purely as an *aide memoire* for those casting their votes

A more detailed breakdown, including contact details, appears in the Novacon 38 programme book.

Special thanks to the Birmingham Science Fiction Group and Novacon for their continuing support.

## and finally... The 2009 Nova Awards

The 2009 Nova Awards are open to any UK or Irish fanzine (see definition overleaf) published between 1 October 2008 and 30 September 2009, and to residents of the UK or Ireland whose writing or artwork appears in an eligible fanzine.

Regular updates will appear in Novacon 39's progress reports, on its official website and via such forums as eFanzines. Material for inclusion should be sent to the administrator, Steve Green, at 33 Scott Road, Olton, Solihull, B92 7LQ; please note we'll only include your e-mail or website addresses in official Novacon publications.